Windows to the Past: “Recent Discoveries”
June 25th – October 17th, 2016
Special Summer Exhibit highlights archeological findings since Hurricane Sandy & newly donated artifacts
2016 Summer Exhibit Description
This year’s Special Exhibit: “Windows to the Past” is located throughout the museum. Admission to the Historical Society is $6 per person; Members and Children free. Student and Senior rate: $4.00 . Come meet our staff, Board of Directors and tour our unique collections.
Initiated from a collaboration of the Block Island Historical Society and the Mashantucket Pequot Research Center this exhibit room on the 2nd floor the has been remodeled to exhibit objects from the archives as well as new archeological findings since Hurricane Sandy as well as newly donated collections from the community at large that showcase historic maps, postcards, ledgers, scrapbooks and other memorabilia that give you a peek into daily life and industry on the Island over the past 4000 years.
One of the most intriguing items is an actual swordfish bill engraved with images of Southeast Lighthouse, oxcarts and other scenes of island life. Original artwork is on display in the Gallery featuring images of “Lost Block Island” by C. Sperry Andrews and vintage photographs from a family’s visit in 1913.
A special exhibit room on the 2nd floor will be dedicated to the ferries that ran during the 1970’s. The “Quonset”, built in 1915 and still a favorite memory of many islanders and summer visitors.
Other boat models hand-crafted and on loan for the season by member Joe Giglietti include the “Sprigg Carol”, “Block Island” and the “Yankee”. Notecards will be on hand to record visitors stories of their favorite and not so favorite trips.
Special Tours of historic sites around the island are available upon request. Special fees apply.