Cemetery Tours

Cemetery Tours

Cemetery Tours

Karin Sprague & Pam Gasner Tour:

Aug 15th (Monday) @ 6:00 pm

$10 Adults.  Children $5  Members: 1/2 price

Event Location: 

Meet At the West Side Road entrance of the Island Cemetery, across from the Ball/ O’Brien Skate Park

Address: 

Island Cemetery, Block Island,  Rhode Island  02807

Contact Info: 

(401) 466-2481

blockhistory@me.com

Tours also available by appointment weekly from June – Oct. @ the Island Cemetery off West Side Road

The custom tour costs $10 per person summer scheduled tours. $50 -$100 group tours

EVENT DESCRIPTION

If you like exploring history and mystery in a beautiful setting, don’t miss the Island Cemetery Tour led by Pam Gasner, Director of the Block Island Historical Society and during the summer season together with Karin Sprague, Rhode Island stone carver. Set high on a hill at the corner of West Side Road and Center Road, the cemetery offers stunning views of the island, the ocean and the Great Salt Pond.

Highlights of the tour on “Notable Women of Block Island”  include discovering the story of Block Island’s influential women while exploring the symbolism and sculpture of  stone memorials. Executive Director, Pam Gasner brings her knowledge of the Island’s history and Karin Sprague, her unique understanding of New England gravestone art and stone carving techniques

Windows to the Past: “Recent Discoveries” Exhibit

Windows to the Past: “Recent Discoveries” Exhibit

Windows to the Past: “Recent Discoveries”

June 25th – October 17th, 2016

 

Special Summer Exhibit highlights archeological findings since Hurricane Sandy & newly donated artifacts

2016 Summer Exhibit Description

This year’s Special  Exhibit: “Windows to the Past”   is located throughout  the museum. Admission to the Historical Society is  $6 per person; Members and Children free. Student and Senior rate: $4.00 . Come meet our staff, Board of Directors and tour our unique collections.

Initiated from a collaboration of the Block Island Historical Society and the Mashantucket Pequot Research Center this exhibit room on the 2nd floor the has been remodeled to exhibit objects from the archives as well as new archeological findings since Hurricane Sandy as well as newly donated collections from the community at large that showcase historic maps, postcards, ledgers, scrapbooks and other memorabilia that give you a peek into daily life and industry on the Island over the past 4000 years.

One of the most intriguing items is an actual swordfish bill engraved with images of Southeast Lighthouse, oxcarts and other scenes of island life. Original artwork is on display in the Gallery featuring images of “Lost Block Island” by C. Sperry Andrews and vintage photographs from a family’s visit in 1913.

A special exhibit room on the 2nd floor will be dedicated to the ferries that ran during the 1970’s.  The “Quonset”, built in 1915 and still a favorite memory of many islanders and summer visitors.

Other boat models hand-crafted and on loan for the season by member Joe Giglietti include the “Sprigg Carol”, “Block Island” and the “Yankee”. Notecards will be on hand to record visitors stories of their favorite and not so favorite trips.

Special Tours of historic sites around the island are available upon request. Special fees apply.

 

Historical Society Fall Open House

Historical Society Fall Open House

  Historical Society Fall Open House

Saturday,Date/Time: TBA

“All are welcome to visit the Block Island Historical Society Museum for an evening of family fun on the porch of our historic Woonsocket House Museum building.

During our Thanksgiving Open House the museum’s exhibits will be open and the staff and Board of Directors will be on hand to answer any questions you have about the island’s history and the museum’s collection. All proceeds go to the Society’s ongoing efforts to maintain this unique Island’s stories and culture. Come support us while enjoying yourself and meeting members of the community.”